Hot & Steamy Habana Village

(Guest post by Sarah Cunningham).

“Just another day in Adam’s Morgan,” said a smiling vecino as we both stared in wonder at one of our other neighbors, headphone-clad, eyes squeezed shut, belting out Spanish love songs for all the barrio to hear.  It was quite an amazing start to my Saturday, let me tell you.

The fact that this kind of thing makes for just a normal day in Adam’s Morgan is one of the most joyful things about living in the neighborhood.  I love how it overflows with so many over-lapping intersections of life.  Even if you live in the Adam’s Morgan, come home to it every evening, there is always something more to discover there…

The other night brought me to one of those wonderful discoveries- Habana Village, a Cuban restaurant/bar/salsa lounge on Columbia Road, in between Belmont and the intersection of 18th and Columbia.  From the street, it beckons like a friend’s house- a welcoming brownstone with a homey awning and windows giving you a peak at the colorful murals animating the walls.  You just can’t help but wander up those steps and into the fun!

At the door, a bouncer will accept $6 from the gentleman and a smile from the ladies (so really like $3 a couple, or FREE if you’re a gal swingin’ single!).  The music and pitter-patter of salsa dancing feet will lead you upstairs, past wall-paintings of Celia Cruz, crooning to you from another world, and Cuban gente injecting life into the calles of Havana.

Upon entering the salsa lounge, you’ll be hit with the vibrations of the Latino beats, the dim lighting casting a sexy glow upon the dance floor, and the bartenders calling to you as they skillfully pass out mojitos as if they were water.  You are truly transported to another world.

And to all those with two left feet, don’t worry!  I am one of you!  How did I combat the clumsy curse in a salsa lounge such as this? Easy as pie.  I wasted no time in ordering a mojito (made with the freshest mint, and stirred with a real piece of sugar cane!), and took that baby to town.  Then I enjoyed myself as a bit of a wallflower, just taking in other’s dance steps as I myself took in my drink.  Watching everyone step-step-turn was mesmerizing.  I forgot I was even a wallflower, I was having so much fun!

Soon enough though, the fun looked too good out on the dance floor and I had to join in.  My patient husband (who is a wonderful dancer and is always dragged down by me!) and I scooted off to the side where the shy ones danced, and we tried step-step-turning.  We had so much fun!

And you will, too! I guarantee it!  Check it out for yourself.  Habana Village is located at 1834 Columbia Road, and is open from 6:30 – 10:00 pm Wednesday – Sunday (and until 12:45 am Friday and Saturday).  There are salsa lessons on Wednesday-Saturday evenings, from 7:15-9:00 pm for a well-worth it $10.  Disfruta mis amigos!

http://www.habanavillage.com/

29 Comments

Filed under Activities, Arts and Entertainment, Restaurants

29 responses to “Hot & Steamy Habana Village

  1. This entry was delicious! Why am I craving a mojito…. :)

  2. Wanted to drop a comment and let you know your Rss feed is not functioning today. I tried including it to my Google reader account and got absolutely nothing.

  3. You need to really control the commentary here

  4. How do you make a blog site look this cool. Email me if you can and share your wisdom. Id be thankful.

  5. The structure for your blog is a bit off in Epiphany. Nevertheless I like your blog. I might need to install a normal browser just to enjoy it.

  6. Re: Whoever made the remark that this was an excellent web site truly needs to get their brain inspected.

  7. I tried looking at your website in my blackberry and the page layout doesnt seem to be correct. Might wanna check it out on WAP as well as it seems most mobile phone layouts are not working with your site.

  8. I believe that one of your ads triggered my web browser to resize, you may well want to set that on your blacklist.

  9. quite valuable stuff, all round I imagine this is worthy of a bookmark, thank you

  10. Nice post ! Thank you for, visiting this blog mate! Ill message you some time! I didnt know that!

  11. This website has got some really useful info on it! Thank you for sharing it with me.

  12. If you could message me with a few hints about how you made this blog look this good , Id appreciate it!

  13. Odd , this page shows up with a dark color to it, what shade is the primary color on your site?

  14. I have got 1 idea for your web site. It looks like at this time there are a couple of cascading stylesheet issues while opening a selection of web pages within google chrome and firefox. It is working okay in internet explorer. Perhaps you can double check this.

  15. Is it alright to place part of this in my webpage if perhaps I publish a reference to this web page?

  16. Have you considered adding some differing opinions to your article? I think it will really enhance everyones understanding.

  17. url

    I tried viewing your web site with my mobile phone and the structure does not seem to be right. Might want to check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cellular phone layouts are not working with your website.

  18. I Will have to return again when my course load lets up – nevertheless I am getting your Feed so i could read your internet site offline. Thanks.

  19. Although I truly like this publish, I believe there was an spelling error close to the end of your 3rd sentence.

  20. Could you message me with some tips on how you made this blog look like this , Id appreciate it!

  21. Do you might have a spam problem on this web site; I also am a blogger, and I was asking yourself your situation; weve made some great methods and were looking to swap options with other folks, be sure to blast me an e-mail if serious.

  22. Do you have a spam problem on this site; I also am a blogger, and I was wondering your situation; weve got developed some great strategies and we are searching to exchange options with other individuals, be certain to shoot me an e-mail if serious.

  23. While I genuinely like this publish, I believe there was an spelling error near to the finish of your 3rd sentence.

  24. Wanted to drop a remark and let you know your Feed isnt working today. I tried including it to my Bing reader account and got nothing.

  25. You have very nice blog here. Only one thing what I noticed, it was very hard to find it from google (at least with my search term). You should check this: http://bit.ly/14AbDBH I use it on my wp blogs. It will definately help you getting better ranking in google so more traffic :)

  26. It’s really a cool and helpful piece of information. I’m happy that you simply shared this useful info with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

